Brittle

brittle

I wish I could tell you I was different then

That I was happy, content, just a child

But even in those early growing years

I knew something was brittle

I wish I could tell you it’s because of divorce

Or a car crash, a scene, a fight in between

But even when day dawns, light filters through

There was too much of my mind

I wish I could tell you it was society

Put it down to one event, let it be

But there is reason behind me

I am just this way, I was made brittle

I was brittle before I reached the age of one

Before my first dark, grim nightmares

Before the first small guilty bruises of my youth

I was already brittle in my mother’s belly

I tried to soothe my mind with a music box fairy

Broken promises, dusty, stained wishes

But I am brittle

So take my hand, gently, as I am liable to fracture

Leave a Reply

