ANOTHER DAY

 Image

The day will put down roots on my shoulders tonight
The sky, dusky, above me; this day lost to time
This day I have made it through, against all odds
And although the sky is now dark, sleep cannot find me

How do I get through another day
When sometimes, I hardly know myself?
Yet sometimes, I know myself too much and it hurts
And my ideas and thoughts sit heavy on my mind

The darkness is my friend but sleep evades me
I tire during the day, and my muscles are taught
Like the strings of an old, dusty Stradivarius
Playing a lullaby to aid my slumber

Why another day when I have had so many already?
Packed tightly together melting into hours and seasons
I long for the navy sky, littered with bright stars
I need sweet dreams. I have nightmares

I am sore and weary through the lack of rest and sleep
Another day I have to pull myself up my bootlaces
And face the world and the human race and smile
When under my skin, tears of pain and sorrow overwhelm me.

© Ellie Sofia Thompson and elliesofia, [2013 – 2015]. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Ellie Sofia Thompson and elliasofia with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

2 thoughts on “ANOTHER DAY

Leave a Reply

