I HAVE A RIGHT!

Abstract_War_Painting_by_Rudi_Can_Paralyze_X

(photo credit: Rudi-Can-Paralyze-X)

 

 

What is it with me?
Do I smell of something awful,
like the stench of rotting meat?
Do I have horns growing from my head?

Do you think me insane?
Do you see me as ‘crippled’
with my legs twisted and bent?
Do you still label me ‘Addict’?

I am none of these things
I am not crazy or demented
I am not something the cat dragged in
after the last rainstorm

I am sick and tired of the fighting,
of the anger, of the rage,
of the discrimination,
of the constant battle

I’m weary of daggers drawn,
of knives to my back,
of your bitter words,
your evil tongue

I need you
yet you reject me
I love you
yet you hate me

You deny me my warrant to live in this world
If this were war, we’d be in battle
If I were royalty, this would be treason
If there were justice, this would be murder

LISTEN! I am none of those things
I am loved; you are pained
I am blessed; you are cursed
I will survive.You will perish.

I HAVE A RIGHT TO LIVE IN THIS WORLD.

4 thoughts on “I HAVE A RIGHT!

Leave a Reply

