MY SPECTACULAR TUMBLE….DISABILITY RIGHTS

Today, I had a tumble or more accurately an accident! I fell….but it was no ordinary fall….it was quite a spectacular experience (but not funny). I fell out of my electric wheelchair on to the ground with a thud because of negligence on behalf of the council. Was I hurt? Yes, I was – I have hurt my back, hip and leg which is making my disability worse (hopefully only temporarily). Time will tell.

fallen broken wheelchair

I was on my way back from town with my wheelchair, riding on the pavement (not the road) as I am meant to but nevertheless, I have to cross roads like everybody else. I was just passing the railway station and was crossing the entrance which is quite a narrow but busy side road. I came up to the kerb, ready to cross and lurched down into the road with a huge bump, as usual. I have already complained in writing to the council to say that they have not provided that busy road with a ‘dropped’ or lowered kerb; a prime example of a non-dropped kerb is shown in the image below (that’s not me in the photo, by the way!).

wheelchair and kerb

I crossed the road and then approached the kerb on the other side, also not ‘dropped’ as it should be under The Discrimination Act, but worse still, the kerb was broken so very uneven (also previously pointed out to the council). I tried to mount this damaged and rather steep pavement edging. There is no other way of getting home other than this route, unfortunately. My front wheels slammed into the kerb, causing my wheelchair (with me in it) to fall over into the road. I was trapped; unable to get out because of lack of use of my legs, so there I lay, on the ground, hurting, embarrassed, angry and helpless. I was obviously in need of help and would you believe eight people walked straight past me, totally ignoring me as if I were invisible!!

After about five minutes, a young girl, listening to music on her ipod, stopped and asked me if I needed an ambulance and then went into the station to ask for assistance for me. Two well-built men came out and righted my wheelchair and got me a glass of water. I guess I must have been in shock. The ambulance arrived just at that moment and they checked me over, made me comfortable and stretchered me into the back of the ambulance.

ambulance crew rescue

I started to recover from the shock but I was hurting, physically so they carefully checked my back and ‘thank the Lord’, I hadn’t broken anything. I was badly shaken up, bruised, battered and very sore though. I didn’t want to go to hospital so they slowly got me back into my wheelchair and one of the men kindly pushed me all the way home where my carer was waiting. I was so glad to be home.

So, I’d like to publicly thank C. City Council for their negligence in keeping the pavements and kerbs in such good condition, NOT, and for breaking The Discrimination Act which believe me, I’m not going to let them get away with! WATCH THIS SPACE!

13 thoughts on “MY SPECTACULAR TUMBLE….DISABILITY RIGHTS

  1. Oh my goodness. I am so sorry for your experience today, that must have been painful, scary and I can imagine embarrassing. You don’t deserve, or anyone, to go through that. I hope you heal quickly and the Local Authority gets their act together.

    1. Ugh. What a horrible and completely unnecessary experience for you. And people walked past! I feel so cross reading that.

      Have you considered contacting the local paper about it? It would certainly force the issue into their attention!

      1. Thank you, and yes, I’m pretty cross too! I am awaiting an acknowledgement of my email to the council at present. If I haven’t heard from them by Monday, I will certainly think about contacting the local paper x

      2. An old friend of mine in Australia contacted their local councillor. They have a motorised wheelchair and they asked the councillor to come take a walk from their house to the regular aces they visit so the councillor could see how hard it was. As a result of that, the councillor was able to push some stuff through for dropped kerbs etc. if you are feeling motivated that might also be a way forward 🙂

      3. That’s a good idea! I have had a friend accompany me on the journey to and from their house a while ago and she was horrified and said she had no idea that getting about as a disabled person was so difficult and treacherous. I might well consider that – thanks x 🙂

  2. Thank you. I don’t know how these people live with their consciences – I couldn’t walk past a cat stuck in a fence let alone a disabled person on the floor! It makes me angry! It makes me wonder what sort of world we are living in sometimes. Thank you your healing wishes. I am feeling a little better today, less shocked and shaky but still sore, Ellie xxx

  3. I have “liked” this post – clearly not because of this terrible unfortunate and entirely preventable accident, but for your determination and spunk to carry through, when feeling less bruised and sore, with demanding action.

    It is never amusing for those who have disabilities to get around, much less negotiate dangerous situations. The fact that public officials and offices don’t consider the needs and rights of others, is a sad state of affairs.

    As for all those who mindlessly walked past —- what goes around comes around. One day, they may very well find themselves in the direst of circumstances, and others will simply pass them by, without second thought, and they too, will pay a price.

    Thankfully someone did stop, and did right by you.

    Be well and keep up the good fight, no matter how tiring and frustrating it is.

    1. Thanks, as always, for your encouragement to keep fighting, Pat. Your words always touch me and have depth in them. I much appreciate your comments. (Yes, you are right – what goes around does come around). I have this afternoon contacted the council again and have also left a message for my local MP to call me back….perhaps they would like to accompany on a trip round town to see what ‘fun’ it is!! xxx 🙂

      1. Good luck to all your efforts —- and yes, that is an excellent idea —– let them spend some time with you in order to fully (or almost – they would have to be in a wheelchair to get it 100%) understand how difficult things are.

  4. omg Ellie! Thats terrible! I’m glad someone came to your aid. But 8 people left you there? Thats a disgrace! Sending you hugs and much love, xoxoxox ❤ Carol anne

Leave a Reply

