THE DEVIL’S SHADOW

shadow devil

I hide between layers of darkness and grim
The soot black air rasping through my lungs
among the smoke and ash
There I find my home

If there were to be a breeze
to cleanse away the pollution of my mind
oh what relief would be had
and perhaps I would be saved

I lay my rags upon the ground
to lie by the devil
on the grit and dirt below me
and the wind howls over my bones

There is no saving, nor comfort
for the likes such as I
who perish in the storm whipping up
My shadow is all that remains of me.

3 thoughts on “THE DEVIL’S SHADOW

  1. This is a powerful poem, but one that seems to be coming from a place of despondency and resignation. I hope that whoever is speaking in the poem is wrong about the bleakness of the situation and that comfort can be found. 😦

    1. Thank you for caring, my friend. I was speaking from a place of darkness that I find myself in rather too much lately 😦 . But, I can see the light in between too, thankfully x

      1. That’s good, Ellie. I know you’ve had a lot on your plate recently. I hope you get a nice spell of good luck coming your way very soon. (A favorable response from the government about George would make an excellent start.)

Leave a Reply

