PLEASE BE CAREFUL WHERE YOU TREAD

A simple poem …

reach-for-the-stars be careful where you tread

If I want you to, would you love me true,
like it’s going out of fashion?
If I cry a tear and you’re not aware,
do you think I’ve no compassion?

~~~

Did my embryo choose to live and grow
so it came to some fruition?
If I seem quite thin when you look within,
would you think it’s malnutrition?

~~~

If I ask you to, would you stick like glue
and be right there by my side?
If I seem too quiet, do you think you might
just wonder if I’d crept off and died?

~~~

If I can’t walk far and can’t reach the stars,
do you think it’s an accident?
If I shiver and shake, do you think that it’s fake
as I seem so diffident?

~~~

If I’m slow to get going, I wonder if you’re knowing
why I like my solitude.
Do you seem nonplussed, I have issues with trust?
Do you know I’m not being rude?

~~~

If it’s been a while since you saw me smile
do you imagine what’s in my head?
Will you stop and think why I’m on the brink?
Please be careful where you tread.

 

5 thoughts on “PLEASE BE CAREFUL WHERE YOU TREAD

  1. It’s easy to misunderstand how people feel or what they’re thinking. I guess we could all do with showing a little more charity in our interpretation of the behavior and motives of others and not simply jump to conclusions. 🙂

    1. I’m sorry for the late response, Bun. Your comment somehow ended up in my Spam folder … very strange. Thank you for your comment, though – I appreciate your words. I think, often, I am just a little too sensitive when it comes to emotions and feelings x

Leave a Reply

