‘IT’S BEGINNING TO LOOK A LOT LIKE CHRISTMAS’

brusssels and christmas hats

If I could have a Christmas wish come true just for Christmas Day, it would be to be able to spend that day with all of my family; that’s my son and my two little ones; my daughter, husband and little *J and *B; my Mum and sisters and their families.

Given that this isn’t likely to happen … ever … I’ll quite happily settle for whatever I’m offered (within reason, of course). I do draw the line at hiking to the North Pole to celebrate the festive season with Santa, and an Eskimo in an igloo, even if he does promise to put the two-bar electric heater on and serve the line-caught Arctic Skate with roast parsnips and stuffing.

As you know, my family has always been … well, shall we say … a little dysfunctional thereby not making Christmas the easiest time of the year. We are all so far away from each other that we usually just do our ‘own thing’, which is for me, usually spent on my own which I’ve kind of got used to over the years. It does entail an oven-ready, chicken flavour ready-meal eaten on my lap, in front of my laptop watching a cheesy film in 14″ panoramic view with only the goldfish and my favourite bear for company. Hey ho! Things could be worse.

As it happens, although I’ve been a bit of a bah humbug character this year, suddenly, all that’s changed and if Michael Buble doesn’t mind me pinching his line, ‘It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas.’

My son, Tom has decided he’s not going abroad as planned this year for the holiday period, (although he’s obviously devastated not to have his two little ones with him this year as they have been taken overseas by my son’s ex and her family). So, he’s invited me over to his house which entails a two-and-a-half journey each way by car with my wheelchair neatly folded in the back, having strapped both it and me into the car firmly as my son does have a habit of putting his foot down on the pedal rather too eagerly for my liking.

I’m so looking forward to spending Christmas with Tom for the first time since he married his ex-wife (and rather, unfortunately, her mother into the bargain). I’ll have to get my best Christmas jumper out of mothballs, polish up my fluffy red and white Santa hat and don a pair of flashing earrings. I’ll get practising peeling the Maris Piper’s, rush round to the Co-Op for a bottle of non-alcoholic punch and a kilo of Brussel sprouts. I’ll pick up a large box of mince pies, a box of assorted crackers and streamers, a Yule Log with the traditional plastic robin on the top …. and a partridge in a pear tree.

So, for once, at this time of year, ‘It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas’, and my wish to all who may be reading this, a jubilant and blessed Christmas and may all the best things come to you in the New Year.

6 thoughts on “‘IT’S BEGINNING TO LOOK A LOT LIKE CHRISTMAS’

  1. Although I feel very sorry for Tom and the awful situation with his children being taken overseas like that, I must admit that I’m very glad you will have someone to celebrate Christmas with this year. It’s never fun to be alone, but it’s especially hard at this time of year. I’m intrigued to know what your best Christmas jumper looks like. 🙂

    1. Thanks, Bun. My best (and only) Christmas jumper is mainly red with a reindeer who is wearing a glittery Santa hat, and the reindeer has a nose that lights up when you press it! I’m just a big kid really x 🙂

  2. I hope that despite all the pain and recent sadness – that you have had a wonderful, gentle and love filled holiday with your son.

    lots of light, love, peace and hugs Ellie xxx

    1. Thank you so much, Pat. Sorry for the delayed reply. I’ve not been around here much the last few days. I had a lovely time with my son on Christmas Day (it was nice to spend some quality time together), and today (Mon), I have had my daughter, son-in-law and my two granddaughters, 6 & 9 here for the first time in a year! We had a lovely but hectic day and they have just left to travel home, hence managing to find time to check my blog.

      I do hope your Christmas was a good one although I know for you, too, circumstances are difficult. I’m hoping that this new year will bring happier times for you. I hope you find joy in your days and peace in your nights. Sending lots of love and genuinely affectionate, overseas cyber-hugs, Ellie xxxx ❤

      1. no apologizes necessary Ellie – I too have been not online very much at all – and am miles and piles behind in everything;)

        I am very glad that you have had a good holiday season despite all the recent garbage – this alone is promise of hope and love – and what a gift to be treasured. 🙂

        My time has been quiet and mostly alone – totally fine by me – it allows for breathing room and peace – and if this is how it has to arrive – I accept it with grace and humility – because it beats the insanity of the alternatives.

        Sending you lots of light, prayers and cyber hugs that you continue to have a wonderful holiday season and that the re-building of bridges continues to flourish in your heart and your life Ellie
        xxx

Leave a Reply

